Hemphill Insurance Agency represents several insurance companies that issue SR-22 policy certificates. Contact our office for additional information and to obtain a quote. Call us at (817) 923-2001 or (800) 480-4461, come by our office Locations and Driving Directions, or Contact Us.
The information below is from the Texas Department of Public Safety as of August 10, 2013. Here is a link to the Texas Department of Public Safety website
Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22)
A Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) is a type of motor vehicle liability insurance. An SR-22 can be issued by most insurance providers and certifies that an individual has the minimum liability insurance as required by law. An insurance provider will automatically notify the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) when an SR-22 is cancelled, terminated or lapses.
Financial Responsibility for Crash, Conviction or Judgment
Any individual whose driving privilege has been suspended or revoked as the result of a car crash, conviction or judgment is required to file an SR-22 with DPS and maintain coverage for two years starting from the date of the conviction. An insurance card or policy will not be accepted in place of an SR-22.
Authorized Insurance Providers
Individuals should contact their local insurance agent or provider to obtain an SR-22 or visit the Texas Department of Insurance for a complete list of providers authorized to write liability insurance for the State of Texas.
Individuals who do not own a vehicle should ask an insurance provider about a Texas Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance policy.
Cancelled, Terminated or Lapsed SR-22
An individual’s driving privilege and vehicle registration may be suspended if:
- An SR-22 must be maintained and the individual does not have a valid SR-22 on file with DPS, or
- DPS receives notification that an SR-22 has been cancelled, terminated or lapsed.
Driver License Reinstatement Requirements
To reinstate a driver license an individual must:
- Pay the required reinstatement fee prior to the issuance of the driver license, and
- Submit an SR-22 to DPS.
Minimum Liability Amounts
The minimum liability coverage amounts required by law are:
- $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident,
- $60,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one accident, and
- $25,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in one accident.
For more information on minimum liability insurance laws, please visit the Texas Department of Insurance.
Driver Eligibility Status
For individuals who are required to submit compliance documents (i.e. certificate of completion, SR-22, etc.), their driver eligibility status will change from “ineligible” to “eligible” on the License Eligibility website once all documents have been processed and fees have been paid.